Student completing an aircraft check-out on the Cessna 152

Renewals and Revalidations

All pilot licences will have at least 3 components that must remain current and valid to enable the pilot to fly an aircraft. These are the:

  • Licence
  • Medical
  • Class or Type Rating - which for General Aviation is usually the Single Engine Piston (SEP) Rating

Other ratings such as the IMC, IR or Multi Engine have additional requirements for currency and validity.

Further details about licence renewals and revalidations can be found in CAP 804 or please ring and speak to a member of staff if you wish to discuss your requirements in more detail.

Revalidation of SEP Rating

The SEP Rating remains valid for two years. Before expiry, it can be re-validated by:

  • Experience: In the second year of its validity 12 hours of flight time in SEP aircraft. This must include:
    • Six hours as Pilot In Command (PIC)
    • Twelve take-offs and landings
    • A one hour training flight with an instructor
  • Proficiency Check: If you are unable to complete the experience requirements listed above, then a Licencing Proficiency Check with an UK Authorised Flight Examiner or a Class Rating Examiner will be required.

Renewal of SEP Rating

If an SEP Rating has expired the following requirements will need to be met in order to renew:

  • Training as necessary to prepare for a Licensing Skill Test
  • Complete the Licensing Skill Test with an UK authorised examiner
  • Pass an oral theoretical knowledge examination conducted by the examiner as part of the Skill Test